SOCIAL MEDIA IS MY BOYFRIEND

It’s Sunday. Of course I am still wrapped up in bed.

Pleaseeeee don’t hate me, I am a nineteen year-old university student after all. Does that make me allowed? I’m unsure. ANYWAY…

Excluding the extraordinary place that is my university, my bedroom is the probably the space in which I think the most. So this morning I peeped my green eyes open and asked myself whether I think more in the night, before I go to sleep or in the morning as soon as I wake up. I know we’re exhausted in the nights (unless we have had a few coffees or red bulls) and groggy in the mornings, especially if you are like me and have the task of conquering those 9am starts, but we can all hold hands and say that we are victims to the little demons that go by the names of Overthinking and Social Media.

As if we didn’t overthink enough before social media.

Now we are trying to go to sleep but that coffee we had to drink at 8pm still has its effect on us and we are fighting so hard to fall asleep knowing we have to struggle through an “early and productive Monday” tomorrow. But the phone is there. It’s on silent and the screen lights up and you’re still awake knowing that you could look through your notifications now and put the phone back down.

5 tweets, 1 status, a stalk on Instagram and 100 messages on your group chat later, its 2AM and you have to be up in 6 hours. Fuck.

Well, that’s what happened to me last night and this morning. I’m also not enough of a liar (barely a liar at all), to say that this doesn’t happen to me every morning or night. Are you the same? This morning an hour and a half is the amount I spent tapping, scrolling and commenting on Instagram. Ahhh Instagram, my fave. Everyone loves a good creep.

Moreover… I thought to myself, I must be addicted. I do feel better when I know I’m not the only one, though.

Have I ever committed to something as much as I commit to checking social media every morning, throughout the day, and before I go to sleep? Absolutely not.

I have come to the conclusion that I am in a serious, committed relationship with social media. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, WordPress, YouTube, you name it. Just anything I can set my big, curious eyes on.

Something that has stuck with me like chewing gum to a pavement though –

“If you didn’t tweet about it, did it even happen?”

In a world where our smartphones/devices make such a big impact on our lives, is it now the norm to think that if you don’t tweet about something major that happened in the party you went to last night, that it didn’t happen?

If you went for brunch in that really posh place in Chelsea without Instagramming your eggs Benedict, did you really go?

Yeah, you did. Except we love that feeling of dirty satisfaction after letting our social circles know what we are up to. After getting 50 likes on that photo of eggs benedict. After getting 100 retweets on that tweet about freshers. We thrive off it.

Thanks for reading! Have a spectacular Sunday.

Rebecca x

2 thoughts on “SOCIAL MEDIA IS MY BOYFRIEND

Leave a Reply

